In response to Western sanctions, Russia has extended travel bans against Americans and Canadians. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Moscow published on Saturday a list with the names of a total of 963 US citizens who are now banned from entering Russia.

It was previously known that President Joe Biden, Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, the head of the CIA, William Burns, and hundreds of members of the US House of Representatives were affected. The measures are necessary to force “the American regime” to change its behavior and to recognize “new geopolitical realities”.

From Canada, the wife of Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Sophie Trudeau, and the husband of Deputy Prime Minister Chrystia Freeland, Graham Bowley, are now also on the so-called stop list. The move comes in response to Canada – like the US – adding two adult daughters of Kremlin chief Vladimir Putin to their sanctions list in the wake of Russia’s war in Ukraine. Your assets in Canada will be frozen and you will no longer be able to do business there.

You can find more information about this in the Ukraine ticker.