Tourists from EU countries, including citizens of Germany, Austria, Denmark and Finland, will visit Greece from June 15. On this day, the airports in Athens and Thessaloniki will be served by foreigners. Only Greece will be allowed tourists from 16 EU countries, including the Czech Republic, the Baltic countries, Cyprus and Malta, notes the BBC.

however, the people most affected by the new coronavirus countries, including the UK, France, Italy and Spain, are not included in this list. The Ministry of tourism of Greece, said that until July 1, the roster can be added more countries. In particular, we are talking about citizens of China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Israel and Lebanon.

“Our goal is to welcome every tourist, overcame his fear and is able to travel to our country,” – said the Minister of tourism of Greece Harry theoharis. According to representatives of the Ministry, several tourists voluntarily will be able to test for COVID-19 on arrival in Greece.

In this country, there have been about three thousand cases of infection with coronavirus and 175 deaths. Most of the Islands, popular with tourists, and no cases of infection with SARS-CoV-2.

Recall that on 13 may the European Commission proposed to the member countries of the EU to begin a gradual opening of borders to promote the tourism industry severely affected by the pandemic coronavirus. “This summer we will have a tourist season, even if it is associated with security measures and restrictions,” – said the Commissioner for economic Affairs of the European Union Paolo Gentiloni.