The EU countries will once again decide without discussion on the extension of sanctions against Crimea for a year on June 9 at a meeting of the Committee of Permanent Representatives of the EU Countries (COREPER). This is stated in the Koreper program published on Monday.

COREPER agrees on the decision of the EU Council on restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol (as the EU calls the reunification of Crimea with Russia on the basis of a referendum – approx. TASS)”, the document says. After that, the decision will be approved by the EU Council at the ministerial level, also without discussion, and will enter into force at the end of June.

Ukraine threatens Belarus with sanctions over flights to Crimea

Restrictive sanctions against Crimea and its residents were adopted by the European Union in June 2014 as part of the EU Strategy for Non-recognition of the annexation of Crimea. These sanctions prohibit European businesses from maintaining any contacts with Crimean enterprises, prohibit European airlines from flying to Crimea and ships from entering Crimean ports, impose a complete trade blockade of the peninsula, and prohibit EU countries from granting visas to residents of Crimea who have received Russian passports.

This sanctions package is extended annually without discussion, since in 2014 the EU determined that these restrictions would remain in force as long as Crimea remained part of the Russian Federation.