South Africa and Namibia were all placed under a level 4 advisory by the U.S. State Department.

In light of the spread of the new omicron variant throughout the region, the U.S. State Department issued level four “do NOT travel” advisories to South Africa as well as seven other countries.

This warning is issued after the World Health Organization declared the COVID-19 Omicron Variant a “Variant Of Concern.” Originaly, the WHO was first to be notified of the omicron variant from South Africa on November 24th.

The U.S. According to the U.S.

South Africa has seen a sharp increase in COVID-19-related infections. The health agency states that this is due to the omicron variant.

On Saturday, the U.S. State Department placed all countries in South Africa, Namibia, Mozambique and Lesotho under a “do not fly” advisory of level 4.

In a Friday statement, President Biden stated that travel restrictions from South Africa and seven other countries are being implemented because of the omicron variant.

Biden stated that he was briefed this morning by Dr. Tony Fauci (my chief medical advisor) and members of the COVID response group about the Omicron variant spreading through Southern Africa. I have placed additional restrictions on air travel from South Africa and seven other countries as a precautionary measure, until more information is available. These restrictions will be in effect as of November 29th.

In a Saturday morning interview, Dr. Anthony Fauci stated that he wouldn’t be surprised if the omicron variant is already present in the United States.

“I would not be surprised, you know. It has not been detected yet. Fauci stated that if you have a viral with this degree of transmissibility, and you already have travel-related instances in Israel and Belgium, then it almost always will go all the way.”