Chaz Mostert, who has won the Bathurst 1000 last year, will now start the Great Race at The Front of the Grid.

After completing the fastest ever time around Mount Panorama’s famed circuit in the top-10 shootout, the Walkinshaw Andretti United star took pole.

Mostert will try to win his second victory in the classic 161-lap race as he teams up with Lee Holdsworth, a veteran for Sunday’s race.

It doesn’t matter what happens. Nothing will top 2014’s dramatic events when Mostert was driving Fords.

Mostert won the Bathurst 1000 Folklore race after starting from 25th place and finishing last on the grid. He was 22 years old at the time.

He will be able to take a shot at glory this time with Holdsworth.

Holdsworth is confident that he will be crowned champion after his 18th appearance in the Bathurst 1000.

Holdsworth stated, “I believe we have one of the best cars out there so I think we are in a pretty good place.”

“We are both comfortable in our car, and we have confidence in it.”

“It is not always the fastest car that wins here, though.”

While Garth Tander and Shane van Gisbergen are the current champions, they will start at seventh. Last year, however, Garth Tander won from fourth.

Jamie Whincup, Van Gisbergen’s Red Bull Ampol teammate and soon-to be boss, will be back in 11th place after missing qualifying for this shootout in his last drive before retiring.