To ensure that each side receives the ball in the playoffs, the NFL is updating its controversial overtime rules.

The owners were concerned that the coin toss to start the extra period could have an adverse effect on the postseason results and voted Tuesday to approve a proposal from the Eagles and Colts.

If the team that has the ball first in overtime scores the touchdown, they still get a possession. This touchdown has been a winning score in recent seasons.

The Titans recommended that each team possess the ball in overtime, unless the kickoff scorer scores a touchdown or 2-point conversion. This would stop the game.

The owners decided to go with the alternative proposal, possibly because they thought the Tennessee suggestion was too silly.

The previous rules stipulated that overtime would be for 10 minutes if either the kickoff team failed to score or the field goal-kicking team did not win. If the side that received the kickoff makes a field goal or scores a touchdown, the defense team would be awarded a possession. Then, play would continue if there was time.

When there are no tie in the postseason, overtimes will continue until someone gets more points.

The previous overtime rule for regular season 2012 has seen the winner of the coin toss win the game 50% of the time (76 out of 152 games). Both teams have at least one possession in 82% (124 out of 152).

These numbers can change slightly in the playoffs. Since 2010, the playoffs have seen seven overtime games won on the opening possession touchdown. Ten of those 12 overtime games have been won by teams that won the coin toss.