When matches reach 6-6 in a final set, all four Grand Slam tennis tournaments will use a 10-point tiebreaker.

The Grand Slam Board announced that the trial move would be implemented immediately for the Australian, French, and U.S. Opens. Wimbledon and Opens on Wednesday

It stated that the Grand Slam Board’s decision was based on the strong desire to ensure greater consistency in the rules at Grand Slams and enhance the player and fan experience.

The Australian Open uses the 10-point tiebreaker already. The French Open, which began May 22, is the only major that did not use a deciding tiebreaker. Wimbledon used a seven point tiebreaker starting at 12-12 and the U.S. Open used seven points starting at 6-6.

The Grand Slam Board stated that if six matches are played in the final set, then the match winner(s), if any, will be the first to win 10 points with a lead of at least two points.

Amelie Mauresmo is a two-time Grand Slam winner and is currently the French Open tournament director.

“The core idea of the four Grand Slam tournaments is to align. Mauresmo stated that this was the main goal. “For consistency, to understand the fans, players, and the media.”

Mauresmo said that the move would help to preserve the “interest of the viewers and players” We cannot afford to do things differently.”

The Rules of Tennis Committee, governed by International Tennis Federation, has approved the plan. It applies to all Grand Slams in qualifying, singles and doubles for men, women, singles and triples for women, singles and doubles for women, singles and singles for juniors.

After John Isner defeated Nicolas Mahut 70-68, rule changes were made. This was in the final set in their first round match at Wimbledon 2010. The match lasted eleven hours and five minutes, and lasted three days.

It stated that the Grand Slam Board would review the trial in the course of a full Grand Slam Year, in consultation with WTA, ATP, and ITF before applying for any permanent rule changes.