From 25 June to 1 July, Russia passed a vote on the amendments to the Constitution. According to the CEC, in support of the changes made 77,92% of the voters. The amendments entered into force on Saturday, July 4.

“the European Union does not recognize illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation. Thus, the EU denounces the vote on the amendments to the Constitution of the Russian Federation that was completed on 1 July and which took place on the Crimean Peninsula in violation of international law”, — said in a statement.

The EU also condemned the participation in the vote of residents of Lugansk and Donetsk National Republics that have Russian citizenship.

Crimea became a Russian region after held there in March 2014 referendum in which an overwhelming majority of voters of the Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol voted for entry into structure of Russia. Crimean authorities held a referendum after a coup in Ukraine in February 2014. Ukraine still considers Crimea its but temporarily occupied territory.