Who will have the task of awarding the Palme d’Or to one of the 21 films in official competition at the Cannes Film Festival?

Moroccan director Maryam Touzani, French actor Denis Ménochet, British-Zambian filmmaker Rungano Nyoni, Afghan writer Atiq Rahimi, Argentinian director Damián Szifrón, French director Julia Ducournau, not to mention American actors Brie Larson and Paul Dano.

Under the chairmanship of Ruben Östlund, twice winner of the Palme d’Or, the jury will unveil its winners on May 27 during the closing ceremony.

In its press release, the Cannes Film Festival says it wishes to “welcome the arrival of a generation of artists who direct, who play, who sing, who write”.

Remember that the Palme d’or d’honneur will be awarded to Michael Douglas, while his American compatriot John C. Reilly will preside over the jury of Un certain regard, the section of the festival in which Simple comme Sylvain, Monia’s third feature film, will be presented. Chokri as director.

General Delegate Thierry Frémaux also highlighted the unprecedented number of female directors competing for the Palme d’Or. Let’s mention Catherine Breillat for her film L’été dernier, Alice Rohrwacher for La Chimera, Catherine Corsini for Le retour and Jessica Hausner for Club Zero.

The 76th edition of the Cannes Film Festival will be held from May 16 to 27.