Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree on military administrative division of Russian Federation. The document was published on the fifth of June on the portal of legal information. From the first of January 2021 the country will be divided into military districts: Western, southern, Central and Eastern, and the Northern fleet.

Under the new military-administrative division of the Northern fleet covers the Republic of Komi, Arkhangelsk and Murmansk regions, Nenets Autonomous Okrug. Previously, these areas were part of the Western military district. The boundaries of the southern, Central and Eastern military districts remained unchanged.

Thus, for the first time in the history of Russian private fleet status equated to the military district. Previously, the defense Ministry noted that this step will allow to improve the interaction in solving problems in the field of defense on the strategic direction of the Arctic, RIA Novosti reported.

According to the decree, before the first of October this year the government should prepare proposals on bringing the acts into conformity with this document.