the Northern fleet in 2021 will be a separate military-administrative unit along with the Western, Southern, Central and Eastern military districts. The decree was signed by Russian President Vladimir Putin.

the Document will start to operate on 1 January 2021. He published on the portal of legal information. The borders of the Northern fleet established administrative boundaries of the Komi Republic, Arkhangelsk and Murmansk regions, Nenets Autonomous district.

Regions that fall in the Northern fleet, withdrawn from the Western military district.

the Crimea and Sevastopol included in the southern military district. The boundaries of the Central and Eastern regions has not changed.

the plans for the allocation of the Northern fleet became known in 2019. In the explanatory note to the draft document said that it will allow “to optimize the management structure of the armed forces… to improve the interaction of the Northern fleet in solving problems in the field of defense in the Arctic strategic direction.”